Press releases

June 29, 2017

Changes to NC KazMunayGas Board of Directors announced

29 June 2017, Astana — Samruk-Kazyna JSC (“the Fund”) today announced the decisions taken by its Management Board at a meeting held in Astana on 29 June 2017. Ahead of the expiry of the term of office of the existing Board of Directors (“the Board”) of NC KazMunayGas (“KMG”), Samruk-Kazyna’s Management Board has approved the following composition of KMG’s Board effective from 29 June 2017:

  1. Christopher Walton, Chairman and Independent Non-Executive Director
  2. Sauat Mynbayev, Executive Director and Chairman of the Management Board
  3. Stephen Whyte, Independent Non-Executive Director
  4. Yerlan Baimuratov, Independent Non-Executive Director
  5. Baljeet Kaur Grewal, Non-Executive Director
  6. Berik Beisengaliyev, Non-Executive Director
  7. Uzakbay Karabalin, Non-Executive Director

The abovementioned directors have been appointed for a period of three years in line with the rotation plan stated in the Fund’s Corporate Governance Code. At the same time, the Code regulates the requirements for the director’s term of office. Board of Directors election terms for a continuous period of more than six years is subject to special consideration.

Frank Kuijlaars will step down from his current role as Chairman of the Board and Peter Lane will step down as Chairman of the Audit Committee. Both directors will remain in their positions until the end of July 2017. 

The decision of the Fund was communicated to the Board of KMG NC at a meeting today. 

Umirzak Shukeyev, Chairman of the Executive Board of Samruk-Kazyna, commented: “I would like to take this opportunity to thank both Frank and Peter for their substantial contributions during their time on the Board of KMG NC. They worked tirelessly to implement the company’s strategy and ensure its successful development. 

"We look forward to continuing our work with Christopher Walton in his new role as Chairman and believe that his prior experience with the company leaves him well placed to lead the Board going forward. At the same time, we are pleased to welcome Stephen Whyte as an independent director. Stephen has a wealth of experience in the oil and gas industry and brings with him extensive international expertise. We will continue our work to strengthen the Board in line with international corporate governance standards.”

Stephen Whyte — Biography:

Stephen Whyte has over 25 years of experience in the oil and gas industry. He was Chief Operating Officer and Executive Director for Exploration and Production at Galp Energia for three years until 2014 and prior to that spent three years as Senior Vice President Commercial at BG Group. He previously spent a total of 14 years with Shell and six years with Clyde Petroleum.

all press releases

Department of Public Relations and Marketing Communications of SWF Samruk-Kazyna JSC


Phone.: +7 (7172) 55-27-10, 55-26-94


Phone.: +7 (7172) 55-27-10, 55-26-94

News archive


SWF Samruk-Kazyna JSC
Nur-Sultan, E-10 st,
Republic of Kazakhstan, 010000
Phone: +7 (7172) 55-27-10, 55-26-94